Diana Cristina Gonzalez Gonzalez, MIT. “On the Performance Limits of Relaying Networks at Low-SNR Regime”

Email:  dianigon@mit.edu

Position:  Postdoctoral Fellow

Current Institution:  Massachusetts Institute of Techonology

Abstract:  On the Performance Limits of Relaying Networks at Low-SNR Regime

We investigate a communication network composed of multiple hops and multiple relays per hop. The relays operate under the decode-and-forward protocol with the set of relays at each hop following a degraded broadcast channel and all the links undergoing multipath fading in the low-SNR regime. Also, the channel state is unknown to all the terminals (non-coherent setting). In this context, we aim to derive capacity bounds for the investigated network capitalizing on peaky frequency-shift keying (information-theoretically optimum at low SNR) and the theory of network equivalence. Not less importantly, we propose to consider and devise practical low-SNR schemes that are inspired by information-theoretical insights while abiding by realistic constraints such as limited peak power and finite bandwidth.

Diana Cristina Gonzalez is currently a Sao Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP) postdoctoral fellow with the Network Coding and Reliable Communications Group at MIT.  She received the BSc degree in electronics engineering from the Escuela Colombiana de Ingenieria Julio Garavito Colombia in 2007 and the MSc and PhD degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Campinas Brazil in 2011 and 2015.  In 2015, she served as a visiting researcher with the Vodafone Chair Mobile Communication Systems Technische Universitat Dresden Germany.  From 2016 to early 2018, she was a postdoctoral fellow with the Wireless Technology Laboratory at the University of Campinas Brazil.  In 2016, she received the Best Paper Award from the XXXIV Brazilian Telecommunications Symposium. She was also awarded a postdoctoral scholarship by FAPESP in 2016, an international mobility scholarship by Santander in 2015, and doctoral and master’s scholarships by the Brazilian Ministry of Education in 2012 and 2010 respectively.